#1 Graded Diamond Buyer Las Vegas & Henderson

What Are Graded Diamonds

Graded diamonds are diamonds that have been graded for its qualities by a certified and professional gemological institutes. These are the diamonds that have a certification from the Gemological Institute of America (GIA), the most reputable center for grading diamonds.

The GIA is an international non-profit organization dedicated to producing consistent, accurate and unbiased grading reports. We only use GIA graded diamonds because of its process in grading in which each stone is graded twice, by different graders, to ensure they arrive at the same grading report. GIA is the most highly valued and respected in the industry of grading diamonds.

GIA Graded Diamonds

GIA developed their grading system, the 4Cs (Color, Clarity, Cut and Carat Weight), as a universal method for establishing the quality of any diamond, anywhere in the world. The 4Cs determine the diamond’s qualities by grading its color, clarity, cut, and carat weight, and from that derives the value of each diamonds individually.

Diamonds are not created equal. In fact, every diamond is unique. Diamonds come in many sizes, shapes, colors, and with various internal characteristics. Using the 4Cs means two very important things: diamond quality can be communicated in a universal language, and diamond-buying consumers can know exactly what they are about to purchase.

A GIA diamond grading report details an appraisal of the 4Cs and is the result of work from a whole team of gemologists. Trained eyes scrutinize the diamond using specific tools and analyse the ratios of the dimensions, clarity, color, polish, symmetry and other elements before determining its grade. All GIA graded diamonds have a unique serial number laser inscribed on the girdle which enables you to match the diamond to its certification.

Graded Diamond Qualities

Diamond professionals use the grading system developed by GIA in the 1950s, which established the use of four important factors to describe and classify diamonds: Clarity, Color, Cut, and Carat Weight.


It is graded by comparing the evaluated stone with a set of graded master stones and determining which one of them is closest to the assessed diamond in terms of color. In this system, color grades are denoted by letters, starting from D (the highest color grade), with the lowest grade being Z.

On the GIA scale, stones are graded by color:

  • D to F are Colorless.
  • G to J are Near Colorless
  • K to M range are Faint Yellow
  • N to R are Very Light Yellow
  • S to Z are Light Yellow stones


Clarity is graded depending on how many natural flaws can be seen within a diamond or on its surface by looking at the stone under magnification or with the naked eye and determining how clear the diamond is of visible flaws, or inclusions. Inclusions can be internal or surface flaws, and their visibility depends on several factors: number, size, position, and color. So, a stone can have many inclusions, but if they are visible only with a microscope, the diamond’s clarity grade will be relatively high.

The GIA grades diamond clarity with the following grades:

  • IF for Internally Flawless
  • FL for Flawless stones
  • VVS for Very Very Slightly Included
  • VS for Very Slightly Included
  • SI for Slightly Included stones
  • I for Included


The cut of a diamond is graded by certain factors, it is graded by comparing a diamond’s proportions with a set of benchmarks. These benchmarks are optimal diamond proportions that have been found to enhance some of the stone’s important characteristics such as brilliance and sparkle.

The GIA evaluates round cuts on a scale that includes the following grades: ExcellentVery GoodGoodFair, and Poor.

  • Table Percentage – is calculated by dividing the diameter (for round cuts) or width (for rectangular cuts) of the stone’s table (the topmost facet) by the diameter or width of the girdle (the widest part of the stone).
  • Depth Percentage – is calculated by dividing the stone’s depth (distance from the top to the bottom) by the diameter or width of the girdle.
  • Girdle Thickness – is graded by the thinness and the thickness of the diamond
  • Culet Size – culet is the facet on the very bottom of the diamond. The ideal culet should be small or there should be none.


Carat is the unit weight of diamonds. To find out the carat weight of a diamond, you can weigh it in grams and then convert the value to carats by dividing by 0.2. For example, 1 carat is equal to 0.2 grams. To convert the carat weight of a diamond to grams, simply multiply by 0.2. Thus, a 1.5-carat diamond weighs 0.3 grams, or 300 milligrams.

Diamond carat weight is an important price factor – since bigger diamonds are rarer, they are far more expensive per carat than smaller ones.