Bring in and Sell your GIA Certified Diamonds in Las Vegas & Henderson

Gemological Institute of America


Established in 1931, GIA’s central goal is to ensure all purchasers and venders of gemstones by setting and keeping up the principles used to assess gemstone quality. The foundation does as such through research, jewel distinguishing proof and precious stone reviewing administrations and an assortment of instructive projects. Through its widely acclaimed library and subject specialists, GIA goes about as an asset of diamond and adornments data for the exchange, the general population and overall media outlets.

In 1952, Richard T. Liddicoat, alongside Marquis Person, Joe Phillips, Robert Crowningshield and Bert Krashes started to take a shot at another precious stone reviewing framework which they called the “jewel reviewing and assessment examination”.

In 1953 the GIA built up its International Diamond Grading System and the Four Cs (cut, clearness, shading, and carat weight) as a standard to look at and assess the nature of precious stones.

Today, the organization is headquartered in Carlsbad, California and works out of 13 nations, with 11 grounds, 9 labs and 4 explore focuses around the world.

GIA is effectively occupied with research to propel the investigation of gemology. Truly, explore has concentrated on creating techniques and advancements to precisely recognize and describe diamonds. This examination has delivered noteworthy advances in the capacity to separate pearls and distinguish simulants (especially precious stone simulants). GIA was likewise in charge of the main current precious stone reviewing reports, where it presented evaluating systems for jewel shading and precious stone clearness. Today, these scales and techniques are the standard inside the pearl exchange for portrayal of jewels.


In 1953, they discharged their new framework which surveyed three parts of jewels:

  • make
  • shading
  • clearness

They took wording utilized as a part of the business at the time and refined the definitions to deliver a clearness scale by which precious stones could be reliably reviewed.

The framework around then contained nine evaluations:

Flawless, VVS1, VVS2, VS1, VS2, SI1, SI2, I1, and I2. The ‘I’ of the I1, and I2 reviews initially remained for “Flawed”.

The GIA precious stone reviewing scale is partitioned into six classes and eleven evaluations The lucidity classifications and grades are:

  • Flawless category (FL) precious stones have no considerations or imperfections obvious under 10x amplification.
  • Internally Flawless class (IF) precious stones have no considerations noticeable under 10x amplification, just a little imperfections on the jewel surface.
  • Very Very Slightly Included classification (VVS) jewels have minute incorporations that are troublesome for a talented grader to see under 10x amplification. The VVS classification is partitioned into two evaluations; VVS1 means a higher lucidity review than VVS2. Pinpoints and needles set the review at VVS
  • Very Slightly Included category (VS) precious stones have minor considerations that are hard to fairly simple for a prepared grader to see when seen under 10x magnification.
  • Slightly Included category (SI) precious stones have detectable considerations that are anything but difficult to simple for a prepared grader to see when seen under 10x amplification.
  • Included category (I) precious stones have evident incorporations that are plainly noticeable to a prepared grader under 10x amplification.

Related Categories:

To know the value of your GIA Certified Diamonds, bring it into Nevada Coin Mart for a free verbal appraisal and evaluation today!